True

Our FAQs - Frequently asked questions

In contrast to the usual LoRaWAN gateways of the manufacturers, hotspots have special software that is provided by Helium and installed by the manufacturer. The additional costs of the hotspots are due to the fees for this software and the effort required by the manufacturers to install the software.

LoRaWAN is not yet a plug & play technology. We will provide instructions in the future on how to get your sensors up and running. Are you interested in a specific sensor that you want to use in the Helium network in the future or are you looking for answers to another LoRaWAN topic?  Then write us your suggestions via our contact form! These will of course be taken into account for the selection of tutorials and content articles. 

No, we do not accept pre-orders. As soon as Helium Hotspots are on site and available, we will inform you via our newsletter. So sign up for our newsletter list above now!

No, helium hotspots have at least another firmware and possibly other adaptations. If you want a helium hotspot, buy a helium hotspot and not a normal LoRaWAN gateway.

Yes, among other things, Helium Hotspots from Kerlink will be available here in the future. Subscribe to the newsletter above today and be one of the first to hear about available Helium Hotspots!

We currently only offer Helium "Full" hotspots. These participate fully in data transfer and proof-of-coverage and follow the Helium Blockchain Ledger. As a result, there are relatively high hardware requirements, especially in terms of storage capacity.


Helium "Light" Hotspots, on the other hand, are currently still in the planning stage and require extensive modifications to the structure of the Helium network. Basically, Helium "Light" Hotspots are no less valuable than Helium "Full" Hotspots, so they participate fully in all rewards, only they no longer follow the entire blockchain, but only individual transactions, which they have verified via so-called validators (these are several thousand decentrally distributed high-performance computers).


Helium "Data Only" hotspots only forward packets from sensors (via the Helium network), but otherwise do not participate in proof-of-coverage, do not follow the blockchain and therefore earn virtually no rewards. "Data Only" hotspots are suitable for indoor redensification, for example. They only earn the equivalent of the data credits consumed by the sensors (1 DC is equal to USD 0.00001 per 24 bytes), so these are very small amounts.

A date for the changeover has not yet been announced. On the same day that Helium "Light" Hotspots go online, all existing Helium "Full" Hotspots will receive an OTA (Over-The-Air) update and continue to run just as well as before. They will then also become Helium "Light" Hotspots. From this day on, all Helium Hotspots will run on the same software again and there will no longer be any distinction. The changeover is being made with the aim of strengthening the network structure and preparing it for the rapidly increasing number of devices.

This saves storage space and computing power on the individual hotspots and is more or less the next expansion stage of the Helium network. Furthermore, it will no longer be necessary to open port 44158. This has many advantages, especially in the case of a connection via the mobile network, since direct accessibility via a public IPv4 has not been available there very often up to now. The problem of "relayed" hotspots will be eliminated.

A significant part of the construction costs for the hotspots remains the same. It is therefore not expected that Helium "Light" hotspots will be offered at a significantly lower price. Because of the lower requirements, the new hotspots will cost perhaps 50 - 100 euros less. A good location can recoup this difference after a few days. So waiting is worthwhile in very few cases.

Due to European data protection regulations, we also require confirmation of the newsletter subscription. This request for confirmation is sent by e-mail. If you haven't received this confirmation, can't find it and don't see it in your spam folder, just send us a message and we'll add you to the newsletter.

Your question is not there?

You have a question about our products or want to share your ideas for tutorials and content? Then write to us via our contact form! We will get back to you within one working day.

To install this Web App in your iPhone/iPad press and then Add to Home Screen.

True

Unsere FAQs

Hotspots verfügen im Gegensatz zu den gewöhnlichen LoRaWAN Gateways der Hersteller über eine spezielle Software, die durch Helium bereitgestellt und durch den Hersteller installiert wird. Die Mehrkosten der Hotspots sind in den Gebühren für diese Software und dem Aufwand der Hersteller für das Aufspielen der Software begründet.

LoRaWAN ist bisher keine Plug & Play Technologie. Wir werden in Zukunft Anleitungen bereit stellen die zeigen wie Ihr eure Sensoren in Betrieb nehmen könnt. Dich interessiert ein ganz bestimmter Sensor den du in der Zukunft im Helium Netzwerk nutzen willst oder du suchst Antworten zu einem anderen LoRaWAN Thema? Dann schreib uns deine Vorschläge über unser Kontaktfeld! Diese werden für die Auswahl der Tutorials und Contentartikel selbstverständlich berücksichtigt. 

Nein, wir nehmen keine Vorbestellungen an, sobald Helium Hotspots bei uns vor Ort sind und damit lieferbar, informieren wir euch über unseren Newsletter. Daher schreibe dich jetzt oben in unsere Newsletterliste ein! 

Nein, Helium Hotspots haben mindestens mindestens eine andere Firmware und ggf. noch andere Anpassungen. Wenn du ein Helium Hotspot haben willst, kaufe ein Helium Hotspot und kein normales LoRaWAN Gateway.

Ja, hier wird es zukünftig unter anderem Helium Hotspots von Kerlink geben. Trage dich heute noch  in den Newsletter ein und erfahre als einer der ersten von lieferbaren Helium Hotspots!

Wir bieten derzeit nur Helium «Full» Hotspots an. Diese nehmen in vollem Umfang an Datentransfer und Proof-of-Coverage teil und folgen dem Helium Blockchain Ledger. Dies hat zur Folge, dass relativ hohe Anforderungen an die Hardware gestellt werden, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Speicherkapazität.


Helium «Light» Hotspots wiederum sind aktuell noch in der Planung und erfordern umfangreiche Umbauten an der Struktur des Helium Netzwerkes. Im Grunde sind Helium «Light» Hotspots nicht geringwertiger als Helium «Full» Hotspots, sie partizipieren also in vollem Umfang an allen Rewards, nur folgen sie dann nicht mehr der gesamten Blockchain, sondern nur noch einzelnen Transaktionen, die sie über sogenannte Validatoren (das sind einige Tausend dezentral verteilte Hochleistungsrechner) verifizieren lassen.


Helium «Data Only» Hotspots leiten ausschließlich Pakete von Sensoren (über das Helium Netzwerk) weiter, partizipieren aber ansonsten nicht im Proof-of-Coverage, folgen nicht der Blockchain und verdienen daher auch so gut wie keine Rewards. «Data Only» Hotspots sind beispielsweise für eine Nachverdichtung in Innenräumen geeignet. Sie verdienen nur den Gegenwert der von den Sensoren verbrauchten Data Credits (1 DC ist gleich USD 0.00001 pro 24 bytes), das sind also sehr kleine Beträge.

Ein Datum für die Umstellung wurde bisher noch nicht angekündigt. An dem gleichen Tag, an dem Helium «Light» Hotspots online gehen, erhalten alle bisherigen Helium «Full» Hotspots ein OTA (Over-The-Air) Update und laufen genauso gut weiter wie bisher. Sie werden dann ebenfalls zu Helium «Light» Hotspots. Ab diesem Tag laufen also alle Helium Hotspots wieder auf der gleichen Software, es gibt dann keine Unterscheidung mehr. Die Umstellung erfolgt mit dem Ziel, die Netzwerkstruktur zu stärken und auf die stark ansteigende Zahl von Geräten vorzubereiten.

Das spart Speicherplatz und Rechenpower auf den einzelnen Hotspots und ist quasi die nächste Ausbaustufe vom Helium Netzwerk. Darüber hinaus wird es ab dann nicht mehr erforderlich sein, den Port 44158 zu öffnen. Das hat viele Vorteile, insbesondere bei einer Anbindung über das Mobilfunknetz, da dort bisher recht häufig eine direkte Erreichbarkeit über eine öffentliche IPv4 nicht gegeben ist. Das Problem der "relayed" Hotspots fällt weg.

Ein erheblicher Teil der Baukosten für die Hotspots bleibt gleich. Es wird daher auch nicht erwartet, dass Helium «Light» Hotspots erheblich günstiger angeboten werden. Wegen der geringeren Anforderungen werden die neuen Hotspots vielleicht 50 - 100 Euro weniger kosten. Ein guter Standort kann diese Differenz nach einigen Tagen hereinholen. Abwarten lohnt sich also in den wenigsten Fällen.

Wir benötigen aufgrund der europäischen Datenschutzbestimmungen zusätzlich eine Bestätigung der Newsletteranmeldung. Diese Anfrage für Bestätigung kommt per E-Mail. Falls du diese Bestätigung nicht erhalten hast, nicht mehr findest und auch nicht im Spam Ordner siehst, dann schicke uns einfach eine Nachricht und wir tragen dich in den Newsletter ein.

Deine Frage ist nicht dabei?

Du hast eine Frage zu unseren Produkten oder willst deine Ideen für Tutorials und Content mitteilen? Dann schreibe uns über unser Kontaktformular! Wir melden und innerhalb eines Werktages bei dir.

To install this Web App in your iPhone/iPad press and then Add to Home Screen.